St David’s Cathedral Interior

Looking back at some of the photos I had taken on my honeymoon, I found this shot of the interior of St David’s Cathedral. I’m sure most people go to far more glamorous places on an occasion like this but my wife and I were keen to explore some of the west coast.

St David’s is the smallest city in Britain, sitting in the area of Pembrokeshire in South Wales and is the final resting place of Saint David, the country’s Patron Saint. The city itself is quite quaint, with tearooms and small shops, more reminiscent of a country town than a city which reflects its population of under 2000.

Although this is not the most perfectly-framed shot and may be somewhat of a cliche, the way the light accentuates the filigree of the painted ceiling and the organ is quite an amazing sight. The sun reflecting off of these brings life to the grey stone and almost makes the interior seem like it is lined with silver. Although I would probably shoot the interior in a different way if I were to return now, I am quite satisfied with the drama of this photograph and felt it was worthy of resurrecting on a dull October afternoon.

©2011 Gareth Thyer
 

1 thought on “St David’s Cathedral Interior

Leave a comment